Children's Reading Suggestions

Find your next great read here

On this day in history…December 19

on December 19, 2013

The National Hockey League opened its first season on December 19, 1917. At the time of its inception, the NHL was made up of five franchises: the Canadiens and the Wanderers (both of Montreal), the Ottawa Senators, the Quebec Bulldogs and the Toronto Arenas. The Montreal teams won two victories that first day, as the Canadiens beat Ottawa 7-4 and the Wanderers triumphed over Toronto 10-9.

For more information on this event, click here.

Cool hockey facts

Cool Hockey Facts by Kathryn Clay

%d bloggers like this: