Children's Reading Suggestions

Find your next great read here

The Underland Chronicles by Suzanne Collins

on April 9, 2014

Gregor the OverlanderWhile Suzanne Collins’ other big series, The Hunger Games, is aimed at teens, her Underland Chronicles series is recommended for middle grade readers.

Thinking one day about Alice in Wonderland, Suzanne Collins was struck by how pastoral the setting must seem to kids who, like her own, lived in urban surroundings. In New York City, you’re much more likely to fall down a manhole than a rabbit hole and, if you do, you’re not going to find a tea party. What you might find…? Well, that’s the story of Gregor the Overlander, the first book in her five-part fantasy/​war series, The Underland Chronicles.

When Gregor falls through a grate in the laundry room of his apartment building, he hurtles into the dark Underland, where spiders, rats, cockroaches coexist uneasily with humans. This world is on the brink of war, and Gregor’s arrival is no accident. A prophecy foretells that Gregor has a role to play in the Underland’s uncertain future. Gregor wants no part of it — until he realizes it’s the only way to solve the mystery of his father’s disappearance. Reluctantly, Gregor embarks on a dangerous adventure that will change both him and the Underland forever.

  1. Gregor the Overlander
  2. Gregor and the Prophecy of Bane
  3. Gregor and the Curse of the Warmbloods 
  4. Gregor and the Marks of Secret 
  5. Gregor And The Code Of The Claw 


%d bloggers like this: