Children's Reading Suggestions

Find your next great read here

If you like Bad Kitty by Nick Bruel, why not try…

on April 27, 2015

Printer-friendly version

Fly Guy series by Tedd Arnold

(KIDS EASY ARN)

When Buzz captures a fly to enter in The Amazing Pet Show, his parents and the judges tell him that a fly cannot be a pet, but Fly Guy proves them wrong. 

Rotten Ralph series by Jack Gantos

(KIDS Easy GAN)

Ralph, a very, very, nasty cat, finally sees the error of his ways–or does he? 

Junie B Jones series by Barbara Park

(KIDS Easy PAR)

In her own words, a young girl describes her feelings about starting kindergarten and what she does when she decides not to ride the bus home.

Babymouse series by Jennifer Holm

(KIDS Graphic Novel HOL)

An imaginative mouse dreams of being queen of the world, but will settle for an invitation to the most popular girl’s slumber party.

Lunch Lady and the series by Jarrett Krosoczka

(KIDS Graphic Novel KRO)

The school lunch lady is a secret crime fighter who uncovers an evil plot to replace all the popular teachers with robots.

Binky the Space Cat by Ashley Spires

(KIDS Graphic Novel SPI)

Binky, a beloved house cat, tries to prepare a rocket ship so that he can explore outer space, but he has second thoughts about taking off as he wonders how his owners would protect themselves against aliens if he weren’t there to help them.

Kat Kong by Dav Pilkey

(KIDS Sports & Adventure PIL)

A blend of manipulated photography, paintings, and collage accompanies a zany, inventive text that reveals how Dr. Varmint and Rosie Rodent capture Kat Kong and bring him back to Mousopolis, which leads to a thrilling climax of rampage and rescue.

Splurch Academy for Disruptive Boys by Julie Berry

(KIDS Fantasy BER)

When Cody Mack and the boys uncover an old, forgotten swimming pool hidden below the floor of SplurchAcademy‘s gymnasium they think it may provide them with an escape route, but the pool is overflowing with evil, monstrous squids.

Dragonbreath series by Ursula Vernon

(KIDS Fantasy VER)

Danny Dragonbreath and his friend Wendell get an up-close underwater tour of the Sargasso Sea from Danny’s sea-serpent cousin, encountering giant squid and mako sharks–and learn about standing up to bullies in the process.


%d bloggers like this: